A Driving Under the Influence (DUI) arrest in Indiana is determined by the content of alcohol found in a driver’s bloodstream. This blood alcohol level (BAC) is tested in two ways; through urinalysis test or breath analysis on a machine called a Breathalyzer. The penalties accorded for drunk driving are tight in many states, including Indiana. If you are arrested for suspicion of DUI in Indiana, you need to retain a DUI attorney. Call our office at 317-721-4783 for assistance in dealing with the potential consequences of a DUI arrest.
Almost every state suspends the driver’s license on a first offense, but the length of suspension rises harshly with each consecutive arrest. Each state varies from the other in terms of how long the driver’s license is suspended. Similarly, the sentences and penalties also differ among various counties and different courts in the State of Indiana.
The following are the various sentences and penalties that an offender may face:
- A fine of $1,000 or more
- Revocation or deferral of the offender’s driver’s licenses
- Subject to alcohol treatment therapy, i.e. IOP, EOP.
- Compulsory jail sentence
- Loss of vehicle
- Community service
- Mandatory attendance to AA/NA meetings
- Drug testing
- A permanent stain on your criminal background. Unless, you take advantage of the Indiana expungement law. We are an Indiana expungement law firm that can assist in the expungement of a DUI when you become eligible.
In Indiana, several types of DUI charges get imposed on drunk driving offenders, depending on the number of times that the offender has been convicted and also the gravity of the offense.
Types of DUI charges?
First Offense DUI
These charges are imposed to first drunk driving arrests and satisfy the requirements such as if the defendant is at least 21 years of age, or had a BAC of 0.15% or more or drove a vehicle in a way that endangered the lives of other people. Also, if the defendant had a passenger under 18 years in his car, he would face these charges.
The defendant would face imprisonment between six months to two and a half years in jail and up to $10,000 fine.
Second Offense DUI
A drunk driving charge for the second offense is harsher than for the first offense, although by facing the second offense does not justify you are guilty. A drunk driving culprit faces arrest by the law enforcement officers.
Offenders facing this type of DUI charges get lengthy license suspensions unless an OWI attorney fights your case based on a legitimate and legal reason. In the case of a second-time offender, you will face firmer consequences of felony charges and not misdemeanor charges.
A second DUI offense gets their vehicle installed with an ignition interlock device, and during the probationary period, the ignition interlock device is expected to always remain in place.
Third Offense DUI
You may be wondering, when is a DUI a felony? Indiana has classified a third DUI offense as a Class D felony, if it occurs within ten years of the past two convictions. The penalty for this type of offense results 10 days up to 3 years in jail.
It is therefore clear that penalties for DUI’s in Indiana differ based on the driver’s’ BAC level, number of DUI’s, the type of conviction and also the age of the passengers on board. The penalties involved grow harsher depending on the level of the sentence; from probation and time spent at AA/NA meetings to an ignition interlock device and possibly time in prison.
If You Are Facing DUI or OWI Consequences
An OWI/DUI in Indiana can mean some very serious consequences that could literally cost you your freedom, and a conviction will definitely change your life. If you are facing consequences from an OWI or DUI in Indiana, contact a top rated OWI lawyer at 317-721-4783! Time is of the essence.