Skilled Criminal Defense
When Your Future Is On The Line

Indiana Zero Tolerance Law

On Behalf of | May 25, 2020 | DUI

The Indiana Zero Tolerance Law against underage drinking, was created so that the parents and guardians of teens should do their best to educate their children on these laws to protect them from making dangerous choices with their peers. When teenagers under the age of 17 are caught committing an alcohol-related offense will be tried in the juvenile court system. At D Turner Legal, LLC we are a juvenile defense attorney that is there for our clients who have been charged with criminal offenses in the Juvenile criminal justice system. We can be reached at 317-721-4783 or [email protected].

When it comes to alcohol there are severe penalties for:

  • Possessing
  • Consuming
  • Purchasing
  • Transporting alcohol

The results of a conviction of any type generally will have the following expect:

  • Fines
  • Restitution
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • Substance abuse treatment
  • Ongoing drug screening
  • Participation in victim impact panels
  • Alcohol and drug education courses
  • Counseling

It does not matter if no one got hurt, you were not driving, or you were in a place with alcohol but not personally imbibing. If you are between the ages of 18 to 20, you may be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a one-year license suspension, up to 60 days in jail, and $500 fine.

Legal BAC Limits are Different for Underage Drinking

If you are pulled over and an officer has reason to believe you have been drinking, you will be arrested on underage drinking charges. You will be required to submit to a chemical test, which could include a breathalyzer or blood test. If the chemical test shows .02 percent or more alcohol in your body, as an underage drinker you may be formally charged with a DUI. The legal limit of .08 percent BAC is only for individuals 21 years and older. If your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is between .02 and .08 percent, you may be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine and up to one-year license suspension. If you have a high BAC above .08 percent, you will face a harsher charge.

Are You Being Tried for Violating Indiana’s Zero Tolerance Law

If you are being tried under the Indiana Zero Tolerance Law, then a juvenile criminal defense lawyer needs to be called into the situation. Call D Turner Legal at 317-721-4783 or email [email protected] for representation.